Fayette County

Distinguished Young Women of Fayette County is part of a national scholarship program that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent in young women.

Cash scholarships are awarded at the local level and millions in college-granted scholarships are available ($1.5 billion nationally). And local winners will advance to the state program in Lexington, KY  where they give away more than $31,150 in cash tuition scholarships.

And it’s FREE to participate!


  • Make new friends from around your area
  • Participate in workshops on interviewing, public speaking and more
  • Have fun putting on a showcase of your achievements
  • PLUS help pay for your college education!

You must be a junior in high school to participate. Sign up today so you don’t miss out on this life-changing experience!


Donna Carroll

Program Dates

Distinguished Young Women of Fayette County's current representative is Madilyn Halwes. She is a senior at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School. Madilyn recently was selected as the Overall Scholastics Winner at the DYW of Kentucky Program as was selected as the Overall 4th Runner-up. Any female student who lives in Fayette County and will graduate from high school in 2019 can apply for this scholarship program. Please go to DistinguishedYW.org. and select "KENTUCKY", then select "FAYETTE COUNTY" to be directed to the appropriate online application section. The tentative date for the Distinguished Young Women of Fayette County Program is scheduled for Saturday, August 4, 2018. Please contact Donna Carroll at Fayette@DistinguishedYW.org for more information.

Follow Fayette County

National Sponsors